Just like the prodigal sorcerer, I return

…SON!

I mean, “prodigal son!”

Dammit.

In any case, we’re kickin’ it Canuckside once again. As may well be apparent, photos have yet to be posted. Though the files are organized, we’ve yet to whittle the 2000+ pics down to something fit for your Someone-Else’s-Vacation attention span.

In the meantime, I’m going to again break my promise not to discuss politics. Late last year, I’d decided against mentioning Adam Curtis’ The Power of Nightmares, but when I stumbled upon a Google Video version just before I left for New Zealand, I changed my mind. Though perhaps a little conspiratorial for my tastes (there’s easier explanation available for some points), it’s still the best discussion of America’s “War on Terror” that I’ve seen to date. Part One is embedded below, with full screen links to all three parts below that.

The Power of Nightmares: Part One | Part Two | Part Three

Here‘s a Guardian article that preceded the doco airing in 2004, and while we’re linking that, you might also enjoy Facist America, in 10 easy steps.

Sorry that none of this is my content, but rest assured there will be comment responses and vacation photos up soon.

7 Comments

Filed under Philosophy (Natural or otherwise)

7 responses to “Just like the prodigal sorcerer, I return

  1. Welcome back!

    Very interesting links! I read the “10 easy steps” one and added “The Power of Nightmares” to my Netflix queue.

  2. Hey Chad. Welcome back, can’t wait to see some cool pics.

  3. Can’t wait to look at these links you posted. I’ll have to view them when I get home as I am sharing an office at the moment! You’ll notice that I’ve not talked about politics too much on my site, either. I’ve not wanted to bore people, but I think there are some things I would like to discuss.
    Did I tell you I got to go see Al Gore when he was in Regina? I may have…anyway it was great. I’ll fill you in soon. Thanks for all of you votes, by the way, and I look forward to your pics!! Or maybe not…I think I might be incredibly jealous.
    Speak soon!
    Rachxx

  4. I hope that there’s something in Nightmares for you, R:tAG. Politics usually just make me AnGrY, but I actually managed to focus and suppress my frustration for this discussion. Casting both sides as idealists was what initially drew me in, I think.

  5. fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord fnord

  6. Nim

    I will add this to my Netflix queue, too, Chad. I got my sons to watch An Inconvenient Truth. They loved it.

    There is a movement in the U.S. to get Al Gore to run for president. There are a couple of websites promoting the idea. Check out “draft gore” through Google and you will see what I mean.

    Also, Michigan voters prefer Gore over Clinton in a recent poll. Check out: http://detnews.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20070815/POLITICS01/708150398/1022/POLITICS

  7. Gore gave his presentation in Vancouver just this week, though having already seen the film, I didn’t see much use in attending.

    We are tonight off to see Adam Curtis’ newest work, The Trap: What Happened to Our Dream of Freedom. I’ll let you know my thoughts on this one, as well.

Leave a Reply

