Yay, us!

Before, when a theist asked me if I thought humans were just bodies and the chemical reactions contained within, I’d reply perhaps flippantly–though also completely honestly–with a simple, “yup!”

Now I can clarify that, though sentient, I’m a vast collection of often symbiotic organisms. There’s ~250 species of bacteria living in my skin alone, and the total number of microbes in my body outnumber my cells 10-to-1. That is way more rad than a soul.¹


1. And also way, way more rad than midi-chlorians.

Leave a comment

Filed under Philosophy (Natural or otherwise)

Leave a Reply

