You’ll Not Feel the Drowning

Well, you’ll not feel it… provided you’re somewhere other than this West Coast.

It’s not often that I can say it, but this week was rather a busy one.¹ Not sure if this is all notable, but I…

  • returned from a long-weekend trip to Saskatchewan. All the socializing was good fun, but tiring (perhaps not surprising, given how few friends I have in Vancouver)
  • made two additional trips to the schmairport. In Richmond.
  • was called in to teach for every day I was available (at last!)
  • boiled all the water that came near my mouth
  • upgraded from Ubuntu 6.06 LTS (Dapper Drake) to Ubuntu 6.10 (Edgy Eft)
  • spent a few more hours in line to pick up my Wii
  • through no error of my own, failed to see The Decemberists for the third time running

More on some or all of this in subsequent posts. Hope that you all have a great week.


1. “Busy” is a pretty relative term, mind you. I know that some of you get more done before lunch than I can hope to accomplish in a month, but trust that these were hectic times for me.

6 Comments

Filed under The story so far

6 responses to “You’ll Not Feel the Drowning

  1. Jusius

    Glad you had a good time in Regina, I hope next time, time and funds permit me to join you. I miss Jamie and Vince and the others, because like you I haven’t made alot of (any) friends in my new town. I don’t suppose you did the impossible and met up with Jamie?

    Let me know how that Wii turns out, I’m still debating which systems to get.

  2. Alas, Jamie ignored all attempts at communication (verbal, written, or otherwise). Allan is working on a bitchin’ time travel game, though.

    First impressions of Wii are entirely positive. The controls are far more sensitive than I’d expected and as intuitive as promised. Zelda looks fine, despite what I’d heard. I’ve only been through the first few minutes, but I’ve had a lot of fun thus far.

  3. Hey Chad! Oooh… Wii sounds cool. And probably easier to play for people like me who play video games by flailing wildly with the controller, only pressing the buttons as an afterthought.

    Jen

  4. cenobyte

    (The Captain is in the process of writing a thank-you card for the music. It could take a while, particularly since I think he recycled your return address. Email to follow under separate cover. I talked to Allan for my radio show this last week, and I’m hoping he comes out to …that games day thingy…)

    We now return you to your regularly scheduled boil water advisory. Do you need us to ship you bottled water? Some galoshes?

  5. A thank you card is unnecessary, though a critical review of either TMBG kids’ album would be awesome.

    I was very happy to hear that CJTR listeners were able to benefit from the coming together or your two rad minds. Had I known, I would have tried to listen online.

    The water is once again potable, though storms and power outages continue on unabated. It’s unfortunate poor weather can’t be a force to lower real-estate prices…

  6. Hey Chad! Oooh… Wii sounds cool. And probably easier to play for people like me who play video games by flailing wildly with the controller, only pressing the buttons as an afterthought.

    Wild controller flailing is what Wii is all about. I have yet to break anything (whether belongings or of my own person) as a result, but I’m certain that’s inevitable.

Leave a Reply

