My current pull list

What’s a pull list? It’s a list of comic books that the nice man at the comic book shop holds for me each week/month/<indefinite period of time>¹. Put another way, it’s the list of titles that I read regularly:

Action Comics
All Star: Superman
Batman
Crickets
Criminal
Detective Comics
Elephantmen
Escapists
Fell
GØDLAND
The Goon
Hip Flask
Justice Justice League of America
Local
Loveless
Mouse Guard
NEXTWAVE: Agents of H.A.T.E.
Rex Libris
Rocketo
Superman
Superman/Batman
Tales Designed to Thrizzle
Transformers: Stormbringer
Uptight
Winter Men

Yes, some of those listed above are limited series, but I thought this could stand as an accurate snap shot. Yes, I still read a few superhero books.

Anyone else reading these or have anything to recommend based on what my pull list says about my soul?


1. I’m looking at you, Winter Men.

13 Comments

Filed under Comic Books

13 responses to “My current pull list

  1. I wish I knew enough about any of those titles to speculate as to what they might mean on a deeper level. I can’t say much . . . except the basic thing is that they prove your geekiness, right?

  2. I guess they might remove final lingering doubts about whether I’m a geek, though I’d expect that most folks had given up hope for me long ago.

    A lot of the titles would be great for not-usually-comic readers to pick up, so I would like to better describe them one day.

  3. jes

    Ever check out Strangers In Paradise?

  4. I haven’t checked it out yet, but it’s certainly on my list of books “to read next.” I’m slightly obsessive when it comes to books with a long print run–I usually wait until I have the opportunity to start from the beginning or a friendly jumping-on point.

    Thanks a lot for the suggestion!

  5. Hey – what about Arsenic Lullaby? That’s a horrible/original/strange/wonderful comic that one should investigate!

    Also: Kabuki by David Mack. Yes, I’m a slathering David Mack fan (no tattoos of his work yet or EVER) and his early work is black and white brilliance~!~ His later (ie current) stuff has slowed to a snail’s pace but is artistic GENIUS!!

    As well: Battle Angel Alita!!!!!! Need I say more.

  6. Séamus

    Well, well, well, “Afro-boy” has a blog now (I connected here via Amy’s blog), and what is the first thing I see that catches my eye when I arrive, a PULL LIST. Sweet! Let me be the first to say, “WOW Man” pretty good pull list. But dude, how can you be getting All Star Super, and NOT getting All Star Bat & Robin? Furthermore, YOU MUST ADD 52!!!!!! 52 is the by far the best thing happening in not just the DC Universe, but in THE ENTIRE COMIC INDUSTRY! I sh*t you not! Check it out or die trying, you won’t be sorry. 🙂

    Séamus.

  7. Thank you for the visit, as well as the fine compliments regarding my choice of funny papers, Séamus. I’d love to know what you are up to/reading these days.

    I do sort of regret not signing on for 52. It’s a rather lame excuse, but to be the honest the most powerful deciding factor at the time was the extra $20/month expense. I certainly have give kudos to Geoff Johns et al. for managing to keep 52 on schedule each week (especially compared to the shipping/retailer nightmare that Marvel’s Civil War has become). Keep me posted on what I’m missing!

    All-Star Batman and Robin the Boy Wonder is another story, however. Where All-Star Superman is a nice dose of romanticised memory, ASBaRtBW is–by all accounts–utterly terrible, isn’t it? And has shipped, what, one issue this year? I will make no apologies here! 🙂

    It might not have been apparent from the little link on the front page, but I found “Bob” a few years ago, and I can now look back on The End of the World party with all-new understandings. I’m a regular listener to the Church of the SubGenius Radio Ministry Hour of Slack podcast–and I blame you!

    Again, good to hear from you, Séamus; I hope that you are happy and well.

  8. Séamus

    RE: Church of the SubGenius. Yep, I noticed alright. Congrats, hope Bob and his Frop have been treating you well. If you like The Church of the SubGenius, check out the Discordians and their Principia Discordia. I personally find Bob a bit TOO Capitalists for my liking (what being a bit of a Pinko Commie and all), thus I consider myself more of a Discordian. Hell, check out Hakim Bey’s T.A.Z (Temporary Autonomous Zone) while your at it. Poetic Terrorism all the way my friend!

    Séamus

  9. I’ve read a little about Discordiansim, but I’d not yet heard of Bey’s work. Thanks, I will follow it up!

    Were you at Jill’s wedding? Please tell me that I didn’t miss out on a chance to chat with you then.

  10. Séamus

    Unfortunately, Jen and I were unable to attend said matramonial services. So no worries, mate. One of these days I’ll get a blog of my own up and running so you can see what I’ve been up to. I’m seriously looking at taking up the turn-tables. Hee hee, DJ Darth Xander.

  11. Jen

    Hi Chad! What he said ^ for most of the comments. Regarding All-Star Batman and Robin – I dunno. It certainly presents an interesting (read: “horrifying”) look at the start of the relationship (read: “completely f**ked-up codependency”) between Bruce and Dick Grayson and gives compelling evidence for why Bruce Wayne in either persona should not be allowed within 50 metres of *any* children, *ever*.

  12. At least I don’t have to feel guilty for not speaking to you there.

    I’d love to know what kind of music you spin, and keep me posted on the blog. If it’s any motivation, you can follow my lead and go more than a week without replying to comments. 🙂

  13. Hey, Jen!

    I love your description. It might be the only thing that motivates me to pick up the trade (if Miller and Lee ever manage enough issues for DC to bother).

Leave a Reply

